Alpine Mummy

A new life in the middle of nowhere

A perfect rainy day

18 Comments

Rainbow

Alpine Papa works very hard during the week, but doesn’t (usually) have to work on Saturday or Sunday.  I therefore look forward to the weekends so I can share pooey nappy duties and so we can get out and explore as a family (instead of me wandering up mountains and though forests on my own, as tends to be the case during the week).  Alpine Papa, on the other hand, looks forward to the weekends so he can sleep and relax and generally not do much.

My enthusiastic petitioning for family walks up the nearest mountain or trips to the lake are therefore usually met with a raised eyebrow and a cautious “we’ll see…”

Don’t get me wrong – he’s as adventurous as me (probably more so).  But I guess it’s hard to muster up the enthusiasm having spent a long week out winning that bread.

Anyway, the question didn’t even arise today as I had absolutely no inclination to leave the house – just look at the weather:

Rain

Rain, rain, rain – the view from our window today

So today has consisted of finally getting out of our PJs at midday (well Alpine Boy, Alpine Girl and I did – Alpine Papa is still wearing his.  It’s nearly 11.00pm…);  making about five litres of carrot soup (a veritable family production-line of peeling, chopping, cooking and whizzing);  playing with Lego (Alpine Papa spends more time doing this than Alpine Boy does.  I think Lego will form a large part of Alpine Papa’s Christmas wish-list this year);  and doing Alpine Boy’s half-term homework for with him (and doing it badly – I printed out a beautiful photo montage with “Mes Vacances” written across it in a lovely cursive font.  Well, I thought I had.  After I spent far too long on this and we had printed it out, Alpine Papa kindly pointed out that I’d written “Mes Vacanes”.  Léo’s teacher wouldn’t be impressed – no “point vert” for me).

So, due to our lazy day indoors, the house is a total tip, there’s washing everywhere, and there was no food for dinner (except a LOT of carrot soup).  We carefully planned where and how we would hide if anyone popped round, as I was wearing my maternity jogging bottoms and hadn’t washed my hair, and Alpine Papa was in his PJs.  (In London this wouldn’t be a genuine concern – people don’t ‘just pop in’.  ‘Ad hoc’ cups of tea are diarised days in advance.  But this is the countryside, you know – people DO just pop in.  Which is great, really – I love the fact that I now have friends here who will/can do that.  But I am the sort of person who does no cleaning all week and then is up until 1.00am frantically tidying and dusting the night before someone is expected.  That doesn’t work now – last week a new friend ‘just popped in’ one afternoon.  I was asleep on the sofa surrounded by dirty mugs and drying washing.  My guilty secret life of daytime naps and dirty floors has thus been exposed…)

But you know what?  I don’t care.  I could get used to lazy weekends like this (they’re certainly safer than action-packed weekends like the one we had last week – I fell over roller-blading at 15 km/h and still have the wounds, bruising and battered pride to show for it).  The house may be a contender for some gritty Channel 4 voyeuristic documentary about manky houses and their lazy tracksuit-wearing owners, but the kids are happy, fed, entertained, and are now snuggled safely in bed.  I have my wine (and my Milka of course).  Alpine Papa and I are curled up on the sofa watching a 1960s French musical (Les Parapluies de Cherbourg – what better choice for a rainy day?).  Maybe I’m old before my time, but this is the perfect Saturday night for me.  Is that tragic…?

Les Parapluies de Cherbourg

Now, where’s that Lego?  It’s my turn…

Update…

We don’t do things by half here:  not content to watch only one 1960s French musical in one night we’ve turned it into a Catherine Deneuve marathon… I think it might be a long night.  We’re now on to Les Demoiselles de Rochefort.  Of course.

Author: Alpine Mummy

Now an ex-City lawyer, I gave up London life 'just for a year' to spend my maternity leave in a tiny village in the French Alps. Nearly three years later Alpine Family is still here - the legal career is gone but we're living the dream (most of the time) and skiing and hiking our way through life. Walks and fresh air are now the order of the day - bye bye smog, hello mountains...

18 thoughts on “A perfect rainy day

  1. Fellow wine drinker, and milka chocolate eater, i salute you. Nous sommes deux soeurs jumelles, nees sous le signe du gemeaux blahblahblah! Your posts always make me smile because i (secretly) recognise myself in those secret day time naps, and pjs til midday routines!
    Til next time! 🙂

    Like

    • Aw thank you, I’m glad you’re smiling, and I’m glad I’m not alone in my lazy day routines!! That song, however, was going round and round in my head until I finally fell asleep at 2.30am, and was still there when I woke up this morning! It’s starting to annoy now… 😉 Fab films though, and I’m a total Catherine Deneuve fan now – tomorrow I need to watch 8 Femmes. Again.

      Like

  2. Strangely, it’s the ad hoc popping in that I miss from the UK that doesn’t happen in Switzerland. Maybe because I’m from the countryside rather than a big city, I’m rather used to entertaining in my pjs on a Sunday morning.

    Like

    • I’ve decided it must be a city thing to make appointments – all my London friends are horrified at the prosepct of people turning up out of the blue! I’m getting used to it though, and it (usually) makes for a tidy house at least. And I do like the idea of PJ entertaining!

      Like

  3. I feel so wonderfully reassured that there are others about with mess mountains. I once spent an entire day tidying my house for a scheduled friend visit only for the doorbell to go before I had cleared the stack of newborn nappies into the dustbin. Of course it was the only thing she noticed – we both laughed alot and agreed that frankly perfection was rather boring!

    Like

    • Glad I could help! If it makes you feel even better, we had a friend staying over last week so I did my usual mad tidy-up in the hour before he arrived, including emptying all the bins. Or so I thought. It wasn’t until after he’d left that I realised I’d forgotten the (gross) bathroom bin – he’d have opened it to put his dental floss in and discovered dirty nappies (lots of), manky hair from the plughole, and dirty cotton wool pads. Wonder if he’ll ever come again…

      Like

  4. The idea of ‘ad hoc popping in’ terrifies me! Thank you for another wonderful update. Am off to do some cleaning just in case…. x

    Like

    • I know – terrifying indeed! And the worst of it? It’s all open-plan downstairs, so I can’t even shut the door of the most messy rooms – there’s no hiding! I need a massive (ie room-sized) cupboard to throw eveything in when I hear footsteps on the driveway… xx

      Like

  5. Haha visitors are entirely necessary to get the house cleaned properly! I love a daytime nap, but we’re all far too conditioned by the protestant work ethic to feel entirely comfortable with an out of hours zzz. I’m addicted to Merlin, though maybe all that questing is just getting a tad tedious, I think this might be my last series.

    Like

    • I find the older I get, the less I am able to do naps in the afternoon, because then I can’t sleep at night. This is VERY sad for me as I used to be the expert at napping – no-one could ever get hold of me between 3.00 and 5.00pm when I was a student as I was always asleep. Those were the days… Enjoy Merlin!!

      Like

  6. I think someone just knocking on my door and just popping in would freak me out a little – or perhaps I have lived in London too long?
    I used to pop in on peeps in my home town, Leeds. I think your day sounded lovely – especially the milka bar and film at the end. We have had a very lazy day here today – too much TV – but hey, that’s just sometimes how it is!

    Like

    • It’s definitely a London thing! You know you’ve been in London too long when you assume the knock at the door is a windows salesman and not people you actually know!

      You know, I’ve read your blog about your ‘week off’ so I simply don’t believe you when you say you’ve had a lazy day! 😉 I do love TV days every now and then – sounds perfect!

      Like

  7. I love nothing more than a Saturday night in my sweats! Be proud!!!

    Like

  8. Lazyweekends certainly sound a lot safer than roller-blading!

    Like

    • They certainly are. And cheaper too as I’ve had to replace my best pair of jeans which were well and truly trashed in the roller-blading incident. Not quite as much fun though, I have to admit… 😉

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts - leave a comment here!

