Alpine Mummy

A new life in the middle of nowhere

Reader Appreciation Award

13 Comments

I have always been totally addicted to reading.  In the UK I got through about four library books a week (commuting was good for one thing!), and spent a ridiculous amount of my kids’ inheritence in Waterstones.   But when we moved here I left all my (hundreds) of books in the UK – it was so painful but I knew we had no room for them here.  With a heavy heart I packed them away, and now they’re waiting patiently for me (I hope) in my dad’s garage.  I was so lost without them.

But then I discovered blogs.  I was saved!  I have found a whole new world of words –  so many amazingly well-written, witty, poignant, thought-provoking and downright brilliant blogs.  Trawling WordPress and Twitter for yet more posts to devour has become my new reading addiction, and is the main reason why my house is such a tip (other reasons include the fact that I hate housework, the fact that I often have a screaming baby and/or an excited four-year old attached to my boob and/or leg, and the fact that I’m just downright lazy).

One of the above-mentioned brilliant blogs is ‘Just Me With…’.  Her posts are laugh-out-loud-funny one minute, and will bring a tear to your eye the next.  She is the only person I know who has given birth to five children in three and a half years.  Wow.  And she has moved into a house which used to be inhabited by hoarders.  Who peed in Coke bottles.  Which they hoarded.  Wow indeed.  Check her out.

Anyway, Roxanne from ‘Just Me With…’ has very kindly nominated me for a Reader Appreciation Award.  How lovely!  Thank you very, very much – you really have made a new blogger very happy.  And it’s always nice to feel appreciated!

So now it’s my turn.  Here are the rules:

1. Link back to the person who nominated you.
2. Attach the icon to your site.
3. Answer the questions.
4. Nominate some other bloggers whom you feel deserve this award!

I’m a lawyer.  I like rules.  So I’m going to follow these to the letter.  Roxanne gave me the choice of answering the same questions she did, or making up my own.  Since it’s late, I haven’t had an unbroken night’s sleep for several weeks now (Alpine Girl has given up sleeping and thinks I should too), and I’m trying to watch the special extended edition of Lord of the Rings Part II at the same time as writing this post, I’m afraid I don’t have the imagination to set myself any questions.  So I’ll go with the first option.

So, here goes:

Q: Do you watch television?

Yes.  A lot.  Or at least I used to.  As I mentioned, I am a total Corriephile, and am very happy to have  finally found a way to catch up with the omnibus on my laptop when I need my fix of cobbles and warm ale.

Q: Who is your favourite author?

Too many to mention.  And it changes by the week.  This week I love Haruki Murakami.  But I also love Marian Keyes.   I’m weird, I know.

Q: Do you like 80′s movies?

Not especially.  Though I do like Top Gun.  I used to watch it every day after school when I was 12.  I had the soundtrack on a cassette and everything.  Cool.  And I have very fond memories of watching it again with my sister the day before I moved to France.  Thanks Ruthie. X

Q: What social issue bothers you?

This question is too hard.  I could do a list but it would go on forever and would no doubt offend and impress in equal measure, depending on who’s reading.  So I’ll just pass.

Q: What is the weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten?

Cow’s tongue was pretty weird (though Alpine Papa disagrees and thinks it’s totally normal).  You can see (and feel) all the taste buds on it and everything.  Not my favourite.  And I had guinea pig in Peru but was disappointed.  Not very meaty.

Q: How do you like your eggs?

In a cake.  A big cake.

Q:When did you discover blogging?

Only about 4 months ago.  It took me a while to pluck up the courage to actually start as I kept stumbling upon really good blogs – weirdly inspiring and depressing at the same time…

Q: Why do you like to blog?

Because I like to talk.  And talk.  And talk…

It started off as a way to keep in touch with the friends and family I’ve left behind in the UK.  Now it’s just as much for me as for them – it keeps me from going crazy here in the middle of nowhere with two kids and a lot of snow.

So that’s it.  Me in a few questions.  And now it’s my turn.  I hereby nominate the following brilliant bloggers for the Reader Appreciation Award:

Mummy Drinks Tea
Thinking Cowgirl
Mum in a Muddle
Shoes on the Wrong Feet

Please, if you haven’t come across them already, pop across and have a look.  Their blogs are all great, all in different ways.  One of them cuts up Orla Keily books (I know!! But she does now have very posh Christmas decorations, so it’s OK).  One of them is not ashamed to put up photos of herself in the 80s.  One of them makes me cry with her WordPress therapy couch.  And one of them is my walking buddy even though she’s miles away.

They really don’t have to answer my questions – I just want to let them know I think their blogs are great!  If they do want to answer some questions, how about these ones:

  1. Who would play you in a film of your life (or rather, who would you want to play you?!)?
  2. You are granted an extra hour in your day – what do you do with it?
  3. Cake, chocolate or crisps or salad?
  4. Why did you start blogging?  Why do you continue blogging?

 

That’s all folks!

Author: Alpine Mummy

Now an ex-City lawyer, I gave up London life 'just for a year' to spend my maternity leave in a tiny village in the French Alps. Nearly three years later Alpine Family is still here - the legal career is gone but we're living the dream (most of the time) and skiing and hiking our way through life. Walks and fresh air are now the order of the day - bye bye smog, hello mountains...

13 thoughts on “Reader Appreciation Award

  1. Thanks! I love reading your blog. And I love your answer to the egg question. The next time someone asks how I want my eggs, I’m going to tell them in a cake. It’s the best way, really!

    Like

  2. Aw thank you Alpine Mummy for a lovely slice of blog love xx

    Like

  3. Congratulations on your award! I always enjoy reading about your adventures.

    Like

  4. Thank you so much this lovely post. Now I’m the one who feels very appreciated!

    Like

  5. Ahhh – thanks for the bloggy love. And I have to agree with Muddled Mom about your answer to the egg question. 🙂 Can anyone say cake for breakfast? Mmmmm.

    Like

  6. Wow, thanks very much for the blog love indeed. I liked your egg reply too but I also smiled at the lawyerly way you answered the social issue question – very diplomatic 😉

    Like

  7. Pingback: Introducing… “Alpine Mummy’s Hikes With Kids” | Alpine Mummy

I'd love to hear your thoughts - leave a comment here!

